2006-07: Week 17

BURTON AND DISTRICT CLUBS SNOOKER LEAGUE REPORT BY DAVE BUDWORTH In the Just Wood Premier Division the two leaders have both popped in whitewash victories. Swad SC A’s victims were Belmont A who had chances with Ian Archer but Brett Bailey just scraped both frames. Mark Sherratt also took both but it was the Chambers brothers that turned on the style with John having breaks of 53 and 51 and Rob knocking in a 52 and 44. Burton Cons clearly wanted to stay in touch with Swad and walked over Ivanhoe B. Mick Simpkins put together a 36 contribution in the teams win. At Belvedere Park A, Daz Lester had a nightmare against Rolleston A’s Kev Norris. The Rolleston player didn’t miss a ball and stunned Lester into submission. Craig Keen levelled the match with a 32 break in the first and an impressive 75 clearance in the second to equal the highest so far. Owen Jones played a balanced game sharing the spoils with Danny Thomson. Alan Davies played a steady game against Andy Winson who seemed to lack confidence, to complete the home win Swad SC B lost for a second time to Spot On A. Trevor Heath took both off an inconsistent Matt Morgan and John Hardy added one more to give Spot On the upper hand. Tony Clements and Phil Ball halved the game with some good long pots but it was Steve Gaunt that brought home the winners with an easy first and a superb clearance in the second. Newhall A thought they were in for a tough match against Swad Cons A. The first matches between Fran McNulty, Kev Dixon, Lee Sherratt and Paul Berry were shared but Ady McDonnell was on fire, coming from 35 behind in the first and walking away with the next. The potting machine that is Martin Hicks completed a solid Newhall performance. Burton Cons B are starting to put together some good results and continued this week with the defeat of Ivanhoe A. Man of the match went to Tim Hodgkinson who was the only player to win two and compiled a 44 break along the way. In Presidents Division One, Woodville WMC A march on to yet another win. This one was a repeat performance against Swad SC D from the first half of the season. Mark Satchwell produced a 40 break in his win over Brian Bloor and this was backed up by two each from Martin Smith and Phil Wright. Rob McNulty saved face for Swad by taking one off Andy Thompson. Swad SC C suffered a rare defeat to Belvedere Park B. Chris Dewey set Swad off with a 42 break and two frames but Belvedere’s John Sheriff and Tim Knopik had other ideas and took full advantage leaving Chris Gould to take the winner. Tutbury B was put on the back foot by Belmont B as they lost the first four to Shaun Gebbie and Mark Vaughan. Roy Walker tried to recover the game with the next two but it was too little too late as Lee Causer could only take one from Paul Twigg. Drakelow A took a long awaited win at home to Burton Cons C. Alan Orpwood started poorly and looked like losing to Steve Hathaway especially when his cue tip came off. He borrowed Tony Coleman’s wand and promptly cleared the colours for the first and potted the final black for the second. Unfortunately the magic was not to last much longer as Tony took his cue back but only halved with Dave Shipton. Simon Orpwood also shared with Joe Ellis but Pat Ryan was Drakelow’s hero with a win against Ray Woodall. John Carr A hosted Stapenhill B and needed a win to get away from the drop zone. Unfortunately for John Carr only a draw was possible and so the next match will have a little more pressure on it. In Furniture King Division Two, Alrewas B were under strength and fielded Andy ‘Angles’ Leighton who lived up to his name with a great five cushion escape from a snooker set by Swad SC F’s Adam Harrison. This knowledge wasn’t enough to stop Harrison but Alrewas levelled with Brian Eckleston winning over Peter Maguire Jnr. Micky Morris had a break of 48 as he picked up one against Ben Davies but Lee Wright (38 break) was too strong for Brian Aldridge. Swad SC E are trying to hold on to third but have made the going hard by losing to their main rivals Ivanhoe D. Ivanhoe’s Brendon Mattley made the difference in an otherwise drawn match. John Carr B are climbing the division steadily and this week overhauled Swad SC G. Dan Pearsall won a good quality match against Mark Hadley and Graham Smith split the frames with Clinton Sherratt. The second half finished in similar style as John Peto and Simon Nettle took one each and Steve Pearsall put the match out of Swad’s reach. Bottom of the table clash between Burton Cons D and Swad Cons C was hard to call and both teams deserve a bit of fortune. The balance leant towards Swad as they took three out of the first four frames but they hadn’t accounted for Burton’s Trevor Hayes and Callum Finnegan who finished off with four frames and the win. In David Wain Insurance Division Three, John Carr D is looking unstoppable. This week Stapenhill C couldn’t do their D team any favours and lost to one of next season’s division two teams. Stapenhill D picked up the same score line against John Carr C with Karl Hancox pocketing a 31 break and Colin Wood a 27 break and also look like gaining promotion. Belmont C and Rolleston D are inseparable in the division and the match played out in the same fashion as Arron Vaughan and Jim Parkes (25 break) took the Belmont points and Paul Fox and Adam Farrington replied for the draw. Rolleston B found some form against Woodville S&S A. Tim Farrington shared the honours with Luke Hudson whilst Joe Docksey took two more. The second half of the match doubled Rolleston’s frame tally with Tim James getting two and John Ward getting the last frame against Jim Gardner. Newhall D visited Swad Cons D and initially looked the better side with Dan and Dave Jackson taking three frames but Swad still had plenty of fight left in them and levelled the match through Dan Fenwick and Jon Petcher. All teams still in the Presidents Team Handicap please remember that your next match is on Monday 19th February. Competition Draw Orme Shield (PinXit) Final – On 12th March 07 at Woodville S&S Swad SC A v Woodville WMC A Evershed Vase (ATA) Semi-final – best of 3 – On 5th March 07 S. Orpwood v M. Sherratt S. Smith v M. Simpkins Jack Dyche Final – best of 5 – On 26th February 07 at Burton Cons D. Wain v P. Smith Billiards Final – Up to 300 – On 19th March 07 at Tutbury Institute P. Maguire R100 v T. Eggington R50