2016-17: Week 18


David Wain Insurance Premier League by Owen Jones

Belmont B welcomed Spot On C and it was the visitors who left with the win. Trevor Heath beat Zaheer Hussain with some good potting. Mick Morris responded for the hosts by winning both frames against Andy Jenkins. Conrad Thomas put the Spot On side in front as he won against Brett Craddock. Mark Vaughan and Tony Clements won a frame each to close out the match and leave the final score at 5-3.

Burton Cons A won 8-0 at home against Belmont A. Owen Jones was first up against an off colour Adam MciNulty. Jones potted well at the right times to take both frames. John Shilton potted well on the other table as he defeated Josh Gebbie. Graham Stevens won both against Aron Vaughan, despite his opponent playing well. Matt Milnes closed out the match by knocking in breaks of 49 and 42 to beat Ian Archer.

Ivanhoe B lost 5-3 at home against Spot On A. Nigel Tomlinson made a break of 37 as he beat Adam Pickering. On the other table, Stuart Tagg shared the frames with Mark Stirling. Bren Mattley found Ade Harper to be too good on the night and finally, Jason Pickering won both frames against Tom Elliott.

Swadlincote Snooker Centre A won 7-1 against a struggling Tutbury A. Chris dewy made a 58 break as he drew with Dan Mabbott. Andy Goldingay knocked in a 53 break as he beat Dave Mabbott. Steve Ayre won both against Steve Mabbott and Matt Keay defeated Chris Mabbott to complete the scoring.

Spot On B won 5-3 at home to Burton Cons B. Simon Smith potted well to beat Lee Cooke. Steve Butterworth and Mike Buckland could not be separated. Loz Kennerson won both frames against Dave Plunkett and finally, Steve Lane potted well to beat Jon Swift for the win.

Swad Cons A and Ivanhoe A locked horns in a match that could not be decided. Andy Marriott made breaks of 32 and 33 as he beat Mark Hadley. Ant Moore followed that up by beating Lee Wood. Paul Slater then played very well to beat Daniel Blunn and Andy Grainger earned the draw as he made breaks of 49 and 37 to beat Ian Rennocks.


PJM Fascias Division 1 by Mick Buckland


Top of the table Tutbury lost only their second match of the season after being undone 6-2 at home by a Rolleston C side who finally clicked on the same night. Wayne Smith knocked a lovely 38 in on the way to beating Bill Stewart. John Brentnall and Tom Lucas were also in fine form as they rolled over Dean Johnson and Daz Lester. it was left to the ultra reliable Wayne Pereira to save the home side’s blushes by defeating Billy Ashton. This still leaves Tutbury 10 points clear but the title isn’t sewn up yet whilst Rolleston could still put a run together to challenge for a promotion position.

In second SDSC B were not able to take real advantage as they were held to a 4-4 draw by Ivanhoe C. In fact all four matches were drawn to show how close it was. Gaz Dolman, Jerry Cook, Graham Measures and Darren Wilson all scored one as did Ben Davies, Adam Harrison, Henry Tomas and Simon Shilton. The Swad side are still looking good for promotion whilst Ashby are now unbeaten for nine matches after slipping perilously close to the drop zone at one point.

Stapenhill A maintained their push for a promotion spot with a 5-3 home win over SDSC C. Carl Jeffcoate and Steve Ford did the damage with wins over the two Rays, Stretton and Bancroft. Andy Tomlinson scored one that meant an extra winning point in his draw with Matt Tewkesbury. Nick Harcombe scored a win for the Snooker Centre as he defeated Jason Spiby. With Tutbury and SDSC B some way ahead, it now looks like Stapenhill will fight it out with Alrewas B for the remaining promotion spot. After two successive defeats SDSC C are now just 5 points above the relegation zone.

Alrewas B kept the pressure on in fourth with a narrow 5-3 away win over relegation threatened Rolleston B. Everybody contributed as there were draws for Ian Hiley, Dave Trueman and Adam Walton with John Harvey, Kev Norris and Rob Sander, whilst Carl Poulton was the star man as he defeated Lionel Lewis to grab that all important winning point. Alrewas remain just one point behind Stapenhill whilst with not having won in the league since before Christmas, Rolleston are now 14 points from safety.

In fifth spot after winning for the second straight week and with an outside chance of promotion is Burton Cons C. Steve Castledine, Ian Shrive and Tom Egginton drew with Jim Marcer, Alan Orpwood and Pat Ryan whilst floater Dave Shipton made the difference on the night as he got past Tony Coleman 2-0.
Woodville A will need to start paddling that canoe fairly swiftly up that creek before long as they now sit 19 points away from retaining their division one status.

Newhall A, having been so consistent, have now gone on a non winning run of six matches. Last week, they succumbed 5-3 at home to Stapenhill B. Only Martin Hurdman won for the home team as he beat Tim Knopik. Carl Glover took another point as he drew with Simon Piechovicz. John Sherriff for the Institute had a comfortable win over John Finch and Greg Britton produced some great snooker to recover from 36 behind in one frame to defeat Nick Trayford. These sides have both won 6 of their 18 matches but Newhall still has an outside chance of promotion whilst Stapenhill still sits in the bottom 3.

SDSC D and Swad Cons B fought out a good quality draw with many 20 plus breaks. Winners on the evening were Andy Bloor for The Snooker Centre and Nick Walker for the Cons over Ross Hollis and Garton Bloor respectively. David Wain drew with Paul Hollis with both players knocking in some good stuff as did Brian Bloor and Bob McNulty. SDSC D are now unbeaten for 5 league matches and pulling away from the drop zone whilst swad Cons should have done enough to be playing in Division One again next season.

Wayne Pereira still leads the way in the averages, having won six on the bounce. Nick Harcombe, Adan Harrison and Daz Lester lead the others in the race for a Ken Shipton spot with 7 players in all over 70%. Adam McNulty still holds the high break on 56 and the division is now up to 41 thirty plus contributions .


Newton Fallowell Division 2 by Kate Stirling